The Great Barrier Reef – exploring the underwater world – part 2

Continued from part 1 …. After our adventure-filled introductory scuba dive, my dad and I got back onto the boat. We took off all of our scuba diving gear, and began to look for my mom. We could not find her anywhere, thinking she must have gone snorkeling. But we asked Russ if he had seen her, and he pointed out to ocean and told us that she was out scuba diving with Craig, one of the other diving instructors. My dad and I looked at each other stunned, because she seemed extremely scared and apprehensive when she tried the ten minute trial session; but we were so proud of her and she was so happy and proud of herself when she got back on the boat.

As the day went on, we kept meeting new staff members and I was amazed at how friendly and helpful they all were, and it was obvious how much they loved their jobs. After scuba diving we were famished, and we were in luck because the buffet lunch was all prepared and ready to be devoured. There was salad, beef, meat and crackers, prawns, bread rolls, vegetables, and more! After my second plate and fourth bread roll, I was stuffed. Good thing I would be able to digest on our short trip to our next reef.

Image

Our second destination for the day was Paradise Reef. My parents and I got our snorkel gear on, and off we went to snorkel another magnificent but unique reef. Let me tell you, it is not called Paradise Reef for nothing! The coral was beautiful and the fish were every shade and color from the rainbow. We snorkeled and snorkeled, taking hundreds of more pictures. Before we knew it, we were being whistled at from the boat. My dad and I took our faces out of the water and looked around; we were the only two left snorkeling, and Brianna was calling us in to the boat. We began swimming towards the catamaran smiling at each other, proud to hold the title of Most Enthusiastic Snorkelers. 

Image

We began our relaxing journey home, this time opening the sails and letting the wind guide us back. On our trip home, Milly and Craig held a fish and reef session where I was able to learn all about the coral and fish I had just seen. Once we docked the boat, I was able to take a few photos with the staff to help me remember this remarkable day. I can happily say that scuba diving The Great Barrier Reef is now officially crossed off my bucket list; however, I can also say that this was not my last time visiting The Great Barrier Reef!

Click here to book your Great Barrier Reef experience. 

By GoDo Intern, Sammy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

